Day 7: Agricultural Communications

“What do you want to do after high school?” The dreaded question every high school student gets asked every year, every week, and maybe even several times in one day. And, of course, I was one of those who answered with, “I have no idea.. go to college.. hopefully get a job after that.” By the time I was a senior in high school, I thought I had finally developed a solid answer to that horrible question. “I’m going to the University of Illinois and want to major in a field of agriculture.” Then came the next question… “What kind of job do you want?” Eventually I gave up trying to figure out a sufficient answer and went back to saying, “I’m going to the University of Illinois, I’m majoring in a field of agriculture, and I do not know what I want to spend the rest of my life doing.”

But coming from an agricultural background, I have been asked scarier questions in my life…

“Does chocolate milk come from brown cows?” “Are wheat GMO’s actually killing people?” “What is a GMO?” These questions are scary because they show the lack of knowledge the general public has about important agricultural topics. But each time I was answering one of these questions, I was answering what I wanted to to do for the rest of my life. I had known the answer all along. I wanted the world to know where their food comes from and the work it takes to produce it. I wanted the world to know the meat produced from grass-fed cattle is not safer than the meat produced from grain-fed cattle. I wanted the world to know that there are no benefits from eating organically produced foods compared to conventionally produced foods. I wanted to communicate to the world about agriculture.

I am thankful for the opportunity to be pursuing a degree at the University of Illinois in Agricultural Communications.

Sources:

“Myth: Grass-Fed Beef Is Safer Than Beef From Cattle Finished On Corn And Grains.” Meat MythCrushers, 2011. Retrieved from: http://www.meatmythcrushers.com/myths/myth-grass-fed-beef-is-safer-than-corn-fed-beef.html#footnote1

Brandt, Michelle. “Little evidence of health benefits from organic foods, study finds.” Stanford Medicine. 3 September, 2012. Retrieved from: http://med.stanford.edu/news/all-news/2012/09/little-evidence-of-health-benefits-from-organic-foods-study-finds.html

Leave a Reply

