Day 2: A Lifestyle With Only One Option

Looking out my window this morning, I saw nothing but a cloudy sky and raindrops hitting the sidewalk. I wanted to stay in bed for the rest of the day and ignore everything on my to-do list. But as a kid who grew up on the farm, I knew there was never an option to quit before a job was done. So I dragged myself out of bed and headed towards my 8:00 a.m. class.

I will never forget the experiences I had growing up on the farm that taught me the importance of never giving up. Breaking my first calf to lead wasn’t a simple task when I was 9 (And sometimes still isn’t at the age of 19). It sure didn’t take long for my 1300-lb show steer, Teddy, to show me how easy it was for him to drag me through the dirt, but that didn’t stop me. I learned how to tighten my grip and never let go of the rope. By the end of that summer, Teddy was the best friend a 9-year-old girl could have.

Nothing was more challenging as a child than learning to ride my first horse. (He was a lot like myself, stubborn and had a mind of his own). Not only did I learn how hard the ground was, but I learned the only thing to do when you get bucked off is to climb back in the saddle and hold on tighter.

I learned early on that life doesn’t always go like you want it to, especially life on the farm. No matter how big the fence may be, you better start climbing or find a way around it because it’s not getting any smaller. I am thankful to have grown up in a lifestyle that gave me only one option: to never quit.


One thought on “Day 2: A Lifestyle With Only One Option

Leave a Reply

